skip navigation

WSCA Coach of the Year

Nominate a Head Coach for Coach of the Year

All WSCA member coaches that make the State Tournament are automatically nominated for Coach of the Year.  In addition to those coaches, any WSCA member coach can be nominated to be added.  Once the season concludes, a vote will be done by member coaches to select a COY for that previous season.

Nominate a Head Coach for WSCA COY: Click Here to nominate a coach

2023 HS Girls COY

D1 Lance Matthews (Muskego)
D2 Rob Dubinski (Whitefish Bay)
D3 Brad Feick (Plymouth)
D4 Mike Pritchard (Kiel)


2023 HS Boys COY

D1 Kevin Pauls, Middleton 
D2 Sean Jung, Union Grove 
D3 Bob Gentilli, Belleville/New Glarus
D4 Daniel Hahm, Shoreland Lutheran

2022 HS Girls COY

D1 Lance Matthews, Muskego
D2 Bobby Nichols, Oregon
D3 Nick Datka, New Berlin Eisenhower
D4 Jeremy Hedrick, Lake Country Lutheran

2022 HS Boys COY

D1 Dave Perkins, Verona
D2 Chris Mitchell, Oregon
D3 Nick Datka, New Berlin Eisenhower
D4 Rich Dorn, Cristo Rey Jesuit

2021 HS Girls COY

D1 Kevin Roethe, DSHA  
D2 Rob Dubinski, Whitefish Bay
D3 TJ Diprizio, McFarland
D4 Lee Rogers, Brookfield Academy

2021 HS Boys COY

D1 Steve Sollom, Hudson
D2 Chris Mitchell, Oregon
D3 Kyle Konkol, Shorewood
D4 Dan Oppeneer, Sheboygan Christian/Lutheran

2020 HS Girls COY

Season Cancelled 

2020 HS Boys COY

Fall/Alternate Fall Seasons (no COY)

2019 HS Girls COY

D1 - Lance Matthews, Muskego
D2 - Nelson Brownell, Oregon
D3 - Chris Martinelli, Edgewood
D4 - Corey Oakland, Prairie School

2019 HS Boys COY

D1 Chris Handrick, Verona
D2 Dan Makal, Brookfield Central
Co-D3 Kyle Konkol, Shorewood
Co-D3 Brett Ogorzalek, McFarland
D4 Todd Maas, Sturgeon Bay

2018 HS Girls COY

D1 - 
D2 - 
D3 - 
D4 - 

2018 HS Boys COY

D1 Steve Provan, Sussex Hamilton
D2 Chris Mitchell, Oregon
D3 Brett Ogozalek, McFarland
D4 Jock Mutschler, University School of Milwaukee

2017 HS Girls COY

Dan Makal, Brookfield Central
Megan White, Winneconne
Lee Rodgers, Brookfield Academy

2017 HS Boys COY

D1 Jeff Staus - Arrowhead
D2 Rob Dubinski - Whitefish Bay
D3 Mark Newman - Mount Horeb
D4 Todd Maas Sturgeon Bay

After the 2016-2017 HS seasons, the WSCA selected a COY for each division rather than using the format of large school, small school, and private school, which you'll notice in these COY postings. 

2016 HS Girls COY

Rich Dorn, Homestead
John Ziperski, Belleville/New Glarus
Corey Oakland, Prairie School

2016 HS Boys COY

Christopher Becker, Green Bay Preble
Mike Marse, Delavan-Darien
Ben Lake, Racine St. Catherine

2015 HS Girls COY

Co-COY Julie Grutzner, Oregon
Co-COY Lucas Kollross, DC Everest
Mark Newman, Mount Horeb
Co-COY John Burke, Catholic Memorial
Co-COY Bob Rickards, Notre Dame

2015 HS Boys COY

Jeff Worzella, Whitefish Bay
Mark Newman, Mount Horeb
Steve Lawrence, Marquette Univ. HS

2014 HS Girls COY

Lucas Kollross, DC Everest
John Bingham, Assumption
Gary Kruger, St. Mary's Central

2014 HS Boys COY

Brian Denu, Beloit Memorial
Mike Marse, Delavan-Darien
Kevin Dineen, Saint Thomas More

2013 HS Girls COY

Trent Berg, Cedarburg
Eric Liebegen, Ozaukee
John Burke, Catholic Memorial

2013 HS Boys COY

Eric Hess, Muskego
Jeff Rousselow, Barron
Jock Mutschler, University School of Milw.

2011 HS Girls COY

Matt Heilman, Verona
Nate Laabs, New Holstein
John Burke, Catholic Memorial

2012 HS Boys COY

Kent Lovejoy, Fort Atkinson
Steve Herzog, Oostburg
Kasey Smith, Xavier

HS Girls COY

2010 HS Boys COY

Herbie Dundun, Brookfield East
Todd Maas, Sturgeon Bay
Corey Oakland, The Prairie School

2021 Womens College COY


2021 Mens College COY